We use cookies to give you the best experience and to help improve our website. By using our website you are accepting our cookies.  Learn More

Our Awards

UK Coaching Awards 2019

12 prizes were awarded at the prestigious annual celebration of Great Coaching – the UK Coaching Awards, which was this year held at The Tower Hotel, London.

The awards honour #GreatCoaching from people and organisations, and demonstrates the role coaching plays in transforming lives and inspiring an active nation.

The Winners

Awards for Coaches

The Awards for Coaches are given to individual coaches who have excelled and shown outstanding commitment in a certain area, or to an individual and/or group over the last 12 months. Collectively, they are:

Children and Young People’s Coach of the Year – supported by sportscotland

  • Sasha Moore (multi-sport)

Community Coach of the Year – supported by Spond

  • Andrew Beech (multi-sport)

Changing Lives Award - supported by Sport England

  • Ben Lampert (football)

Talent Development Coach of the Year - supported by UKPCA

  • Danielle Brayson (swimming)

High Performance Coach of the Year – supported by UK Sport

  • Melanie Marshall (swimming)

Young Coach of the Year – supported by Sport Wales

  • James Galt (football/futsal)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Judy Murray OBE was announced as the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award last month, and was formally recognised at the Awards for her achievements through a lifetime dedicated to coaching.

The Coaching Chain

The coaches of England Cricket World Cup winner Ben Stokes and Team GB Olympic sailing champion Hannah Mills were announced as the winners of The Coaching Chain award last month.

The coaches behind the success of Stokes are Jon Gibson, John Windows, Geoff Cook, Andy Flower and Trevor Bayliss, whilst Mills has been guided by Anne Barrett, Ollie Green, Alan Williams and Joe Glanfield.

Awards in Support of Coaches

The Awards in Support of Coaches recognise those who recruit, develop, educate, qualify, and/or deploy coaches effectively in the UK. Collectively, they are:

Coach Developer of the Year

  • Sue Ringrose (horseracing)

Transforming Coaching Award - supported by Believe Perform

  • Great Britain Hockey Coach Development Offer

Coaching for an Active Life Award

  • The Bulldogs (boxing)


Take a look at the official photos from this year's UK Coaching Awards

Looking Sharp!

Last year's Awards

And the 2018 winners were...

The UK Coaching Awards 2018 took place at a special awards ceremony on Thursday 29 November at The Honourable Artillery Company, London.

Awards for coaches

  • Children’s Coach of the Year, supported by sportscotland - Ady Gray (Karate) (Wetherby)
  • Community Coach of the Year, supported by Sport England - Lee Coulson BEM (Multi-sport) (Aberystwyth) 
  • Disability Coach of the Year - Melanie Timberlake (Multi-sport) (Aylesbury)
  • Heather Crouch Young Coach of the Year, supported by Youth Sport Trust - Izzy Cottrell (Multi-sport) (Chesterfield) 
  • High Performance Coach of the Year - Matthew Lawrence (Paracanoe) (Nottingham)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Peter Stanley (Athletics) (Loughborough)
  • Talent Development Coach of the Year - Francesca Lewis (Tennis) (Swansea)

Awards in Support of Coaches

  • Coach Developer of the Year - Richard Cheetham MBE (Multi-sport) (Winchester)
  • Coaching Culture Organisation of the Year - British Canoeing (Nottingham)
  • Coaching for an Active Life Award  - Move More Northern Ireland (Northern Ireland)
  • Transforming Coaching through Technology, supported by Reading Room - Project 500 (South East of England)

Coaching Chain Award

Welsh Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas’ coaches were recognised for the contribution they made throughout his life. The winning coaches were Tim Kerrison, Matt Parker, Rod Ellingworth, Darren Tudor and Debbie Wharton.

Coaching Hall of Fame

Head coaches of GB’s gold medallists from the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games were inducted into UK Coaching’s hall of fame. 

Amanda Pirie, coach to Menna Fitzpatrick and guide Jennifer Kehoe, who won gold in the alpine skiing women's slalom, and Eric Bernotas, coach to Lizzy Yarnold, who won gold in the women’s skeleton, were presented with Mussabini Medals (named after pioneer sports coach Sam Mussabini) to acknowledge their hand in creating GB Winter Olympic and Paralympic success.

Great Coaching Moment of the Year 

Kris Stafford, Stephen Quinn and Harrison Marshall of Old Otliensians RUFC – 2018 RFU Junior Vase (Rugby Union) (Otley) won the new for 2018 Great Coaching Moment of the Year. Open to a public vote, which concluded on the night of the Awards, the Old Otliensians managed to field of stiff competition from Tracey Neville and Gareth Southgate to take the gong which celebrates a particular moment in time when a coach’s support and guidance really paid off.

Receive Inspiring Coaching Stories

To find out about life changing coaching journeys throughout the year, sign-up for our newsletter

Join Us